Tristero is a Brussels-based theatre company, the artistic core being Youri Dirkx and Peter Vandenbempt. Manu Devriendt is the company manager.

In 2017 Kristien De Proost left the artistic core to dedicate herself to writing. Nevertheless she will continue to perform in Tristero-productions.

If you look at all Tristero productions, you will find them very diverse: incisive comedies and intriguing well-made plays (including work by Mike Leigh, David Hare and Martin Crimp), own adaptations of prose and own creative writing, but also movement theatre or a mix of one or more of these genres.

Tristero has a nose for less well known but interesting plays. They adapt them, making their own mark, and turn them into a theatre experience for a broad public, without turning it into mere entertainment. This results in intelligent and funny shows with a sharp edge.

Tristero is supported by the Flemish community and by the Brussels Capital Region’s Flemish Community Commission.

Youri Dirkx studied acting at the Kleine Academie and has performed on stage mostly for Tristero, Dito’Dito and Théâtre Varia. He has also frequently worked with the artist Dora Garcia.
e-mail youri

Peter Vandenbempt studied Germanic philology and Theatre Studies at the University of Leuven, has performed mainly with Tristero, Jérôme Bel and Kassys, and has worked (and works) with students at LUCA-drama, Leuven and RITCS, Brussels.
e-mail peter

Manu Devriendt studied law and worked with and for Walpurgis, Dito’Dito, Het beschrijf, Passa Porta, Benjamin Verdonck, Vincent Dunoyer, Bernard Van Eeghem and Thomas Hauert. Currently, he works for Tristero and the Philippe Vandenberg Foundation.
e-mail manu

Several tracksTRISTERO stages different kinds of shows. Usually it starts off with being fascinated by a piece of writing, but it may also be a theme, a concept or an image. We make it our aim to research and to try out different styles.

A different repertoireTRISTERO is constantly on the lookout for new or unjustly neglected or rarely staged authors/plays. This is why we have staged several Flemish premières and new creations (including Altijd ’t zelfde, Locos and Play with Repeats). Moreover, we do not limit ourselves to plays; in the past we have also successfully adapted prose.

Humour is an important asset: intelligent, but not intellectual, accessible but not vulgar; first lurid, then subtle; gloomy, but never cynical; sometimes absurd. Occasionally we choose real comedies, but even when this is not the case, we try to draw out the comical elements. Laughter is cleansing, lets us put things and ourselves into perspective, and may be a means of enabling the audience to deal with the absurdity of life.

A collective – Each member of the artistic core is equally involved in the creative process: looking for or creating new texts, dramaturgy, developing and acting.

Brussels-based – Tristero is one of the few Dutch-speaking companies in Brussels. So we contribute to the diversity of what’s on offer in the capital. We have two substantial partners in Brussels: KVS and Kaaitheater. As a Brussels company we consider it important to build an audience in the French-speaking community and to interact with the French-speaking artistic scene (e.g. our collaboration with Transquinquennal and Énervé).

19, Square Sainctelette
B-1000 Brussels

tel: 32 (0)2/502.99.01
e-mail tristero

company manager
manu devriendt
+32 (0)475 73 08 61

Tristero est un collectif bruxellois de théâtre dont le noyau se compose de Youri Dirkx et Peter Vandenbempt. Manu Devriendt assure la direction administrative.

En 2017 Kristien De Proost a quitté le noyau pour se concentrer sur son écriture. Kristien participera encore aux spectacles de Tristero mais elle ne prendra plus de responsabilité

Tristero a jusqu’à présent effectué un parcours éclectique. Ses diverses productions appartiennent souvent à un répertoire nouveau ou inconnu et proposent des comédies étonnantes et bien ficelées, des adaptations de textes en prose ou des écritures réalisées par le collectif lui-même, mais aussi du théâtre de mouvement ou des formes hybrides.

Tristero a du nez pour découvrir des textes de théâtre moins connus, mais intéressants. Le collectif les transpose de manière singulière dans des spectacles intelligents et drôles, avec une pointe de causticité.

Tristero bénéficie de subventions de la Communauté flamande et de la Commission de la Communauté flamande de la Région Bruxelles-Capitale.

Youri Dirkx a suivi une formation théâtrale à la Kleine Academie et a joué principalement avec Tristero, Dito’Dito et le Théâtre Varia. Par ailleurs, il a régulièrement travaillé avec la plasticienne Dora Garcia.
e-mail youri

Peter Vandenbempt est licencié en philologie germanique et a suivi les études théâtrales à Louvain. Il a principalement joué avec Tristero, Jérôme Bel et Kassys. Il a travaillé (et travaille) avec des étudiants de LUCA-Drama (Louvain) et du RITCS (Bruxelles).
e-mail peter

Manu Devriendt est licencié en droit et a travaillé avec et pour Walpurgis, Dito’Dito, Het beschrijf, Passa Porta, Benjamin Verdonck, Vincent Dunoyer, Bernard Van Eeghem et Thomas Hauert. Actuellement il travaille pour Tristero et la Philippe Vandenberg Foundation.
e-mail manu

Plusieurs pistes – Tristero présente diverses sortes de spectacles. La fascination pour un texte nous sert souvent de point de départ, mais nous pouvons tout autant nous inspirer d’un thème, d’un concept ou d’une image. La particularité de notre style réside dans notre analyse de styles différents et notre aplomb à nous y attaquer.

Un répertoire à part – Tristero est continuellement en quête d’auteurs ou de textes inconnus, trop peu connus ou trop peu joués. Ainsi, Tristero peut inscrire à son palmarès plusieurs premières et créations pour la Flandre (e.a. Altijd ‘t zelfde, Locos, Play with Repeats). En outre, nous ne nous limitons pas à des textes de théâtre ; nous avons également adapté nous-mêmes de la prose.

L’humour est un atout majeur de Tristero : intelligent sans être intellectuel, accessible sans sombrer dans la vulgarité, parfois grossier, d’autres fois subtil, cinglant mais jamais cynique, souvent pince-sans-rire, absurde à d’autres moments.
Il nous arrive d’opter pour de véritables comédies, mais nous tentons aussi de puiser les éléments humoristiques des autres textes avec lesquels nous travaillons.
Le rire agit de manière purificatrice, nous permet de (nous) relativiser et peut nous réconcilier – ainsi que le public peut-être – avec l’absurdité de l’existence.

Un collectif – Chaque membre du noyau artistique est associé au même titre à chaque étape du processus créatif : recherche et/ou adaptation de nouveaux textes, dramaturgie, conception et interprétation du spectacle

Bruxelles – Tristero est l’une des rares compagnies néerlandophones de théâtre établies à Bruxelles. Nous fournissons de la sorte une contribution à la diversité de l’offre culturelle de la capitale. À Bruxelles, nous bénéficions par ailleurs de partenariats solides avec le Kaaitheater et le KVS. En tant que compagnie bruxelloise, nous estimons qu’il est important d’atteindre le public francophone et de développer des échanges avec la scène artistique francophone (voir notre collaboration avec Transquinquennal et Énervé).

19, Square Sainctelette
B-1000 Bruxelles

tel: 32 (0)2/502.99.01
e-mail tristero

responsable administration
manu devriendt
+32 (0)475 73 08 61